Quick snip, tack, paste and paint projects.

Bronzed Rocking Horse

P1010556

I brought this horse from a second hand tool shop for $20. It is made of light inexpensive wood, and it had a bright yellow, red, white and blue Indonesian style paint scheme. It had no ears, it’s tail wasn’t joined and it’s legs plugged into the body but didn’t sit flush. There were large 1 – 2cm gaps between all of the joins and the hooves were badly damaged.

Unfortunately I don’t have any previous, or working photos – so I can’t share with you the picture show. But I can tell you what we did.

Firstly, we gave it a good sand back to start and then glued all of the joins in place. When the glue was dry I went to work with builders putty to close up the gaps. My husband kindly knocked a few nails into the spots where the ears should have been and I rebuilt the ears around the nails using air drying clay, then back filled with newtech and builders putty. We left it for a few days to fully cure and then touched up any shrinkage gaps that had appeared. Once happy, a few coats of primer to finish the undercoat, and then final and best part was the application of the bronze paint and acid to finally create the aged bronze patina look.

I used about 3 sets to complete the horse. This special paint set consists of a bronze undercoat, and an acid top coat. These types of paints are also known as Gilding Liquids they are fine and precious metal powders suspended in a transparent varnish. There are all sorts of gilding liquids to choose from in the Pebeo range. It’s one of my favourite pieces I’ve made, everyone that sees it thinks it is a real bronze. LOL.

Statuesque Lamp

P1010565

I brought this statue for $30 of an auction site. It is made of composite metals and had been dropped so there was slight damage to the hand and Axe that it held. It stands 1 metre 17cm high, it was tricky trying to get it in the back of my little car.

I knew immediately what I was going to do with it when I brought it. Our vacuum cleaner had not long died, and had been retired to the shed to collect dust until we got rid of it. So I got the statue home, removed the Axe head from the pole and confirmed my suspicions that the handle/pipe was hollow. I then cut the vacuum cleaner cord of at the machine end (leaving the plug intact on the other end) and feed the cord up through the hollow handle/pipe. I had previously picked up a light/switch fitting and shade and assembled all of the bits, wired and tested, and PRESTO. Fancy pants light!!!! I really, really wanted to use the 1920’s blown glass lemon drop light shade that I have – but my husband thought it was a bit too much – so I’m willing to compromise with a modern mock suede shade. For now.

8 thoughts on “Quick snip, tack, paste and paint projects.

  1. Pingback: Trash to Treasure–Art Deco Lamp conversion & Spruce up « Pepperbox Couture

  2. I have to say, with a catch in my throat… “I wanna shop where YOU are” *sigh* a diy heaven-like place filled with quirky projects-to-be and wonderful painting options. (I’m googling that ‘patina paint’ in another window as I type… see ^ right up there. I HAVE to source that locally) Thanks again for stopping by diy nerd, I appreciate it. Your diy/decor style is right up my alley. I will -in a totally innocent nerd-like, non-stalking way- be following your blog. Just…. ignore the occasional jealous tear or two. Please?

    Like

    • LOL, thanks I’m told by everyone around me that I must have an eye for style. Because they don’t see the same potential in things that I do, until I have developed the item in what I envisioned it to be. For example if I spot something of interest, and mention it to whoever I am with there is usually a look of disgust or confusion, followed with some sort of nonsense trying to talk me out of it. Hillarious!

      My husband is always very skeptical every time I bring something home – LOL – but he’s seen the transformations so often he just lets me go with it and I get him involved in the messy boy jobs. As skeptical as he is before and during the project – he is always amazed at the end result.

      FYI – You should be able to find that paint wherever in the world you are (assuming you’re not in NZ). Pebeo is a brand that is made in spain. I just get it at my local art store, but most craft stores carry it as well. You can also click on the picture of the paint in the article to be redirected to Pebeo’s website and they might have stockists/importers details for your corner of the world.

      Good luck!

      Like

      • Perfect! that paint shall be MINE! lol. I hear you on the “no one else sees the potential” thing. I get that a lot too. Which I don’t understand, how can you not see that if that gauldy brass chair with the ripped orange and brown vinyl couldn’t be fabulous in a hammered nickle finish, enrobed in red and white damask with solid piping? *shakes head* craaazy. It’s all right there. Well, here. In my head. Here, I’ll just send you a print out. lol. My husband is “almost” at the same, “just do whatever project is stuck in that overfilled head of yours” accepting stage as your husband. All that’s missing is a final silencing of the sigh and odd squealing noise emmited by his lips on occasion. 😉 haha! My husbad told me I live in Diy land and that he likes to visit but would occasionally like to visit *just go and buy it* town. Hope you have a great weekend and thanks for stopping by diy nerd, I appreciate it.

        Like

        • I know right! so funny, we must be twins – we seem to have the same experiences. HILARIOUS 🙂

          Happy paint procuring – have a great weekend!! chat soon.

          Like

  3. Pingback: Quick snip, tack, paste and paint projects. « Pepperbox Couture « Creative Revolt – DIY projects and patterns 4 U

Comments are closed.