The great laundry cover-up; PART 3 of a 3 part DIY Story – The final act

Welcome to post three, the final in this DIY story

 

Just to recap the situation:

  1. Problem:      Ugly laundry space

  2. Plan:              Hide it behind a room divider

  3. Do:                 Design and develop the room divider

  4. Act:                Put it in place, problem solved!

 

 What we’ve done so far:

First post looked at the laundry situation, the second post was the ‘stencil edition’ and the third post is THIS POST!!

  

We accomplished the problem diagnoses and the planning; step one and two in the first post, and the second post took half us way through step three; the ‘do something’ step (also known as the stencil edition in this story) and now here we are…… What’s left to do? Well making the screen of course. I am relatively optimistic about this stage, because this is where we get results. I like results.

Last night I cut and machine basted each of the panels mainly to keep the pieces in shape whilst I mucked around with the logistics of how to assemble all the bits. I’ve never worked with this type of fabric before, as I cut it, it immediately started to fray, so machine basting was a necessary step if I didn’t want to wake up to a tangled pile of unruly threads instead of material panels.

I dug through my craft room and found enough curtain clips in ugly plastic white (The ugly curtain clips will be used to attach the fabric panels to the rings at the back of the screen). Hubby took them to the shed and used some more of the flat black spray paint to change their colour.

You might say, ‘who’s gonna see the back? That’s a bit overboard! OH she must be a little OCD’,  to which I say EVERYONE, NO and MAYBE A LITTLE. but seriously you’ll see the back often – every time you move it, fold it up, slide the panel across, and as a result you’ll be happier you took they time to match the clips to the hooks and frame! It would drive me batty-super-cray-nutzo even if I just knew, but couldn’t see, that there were ugly white clips back there (yes, maybe a little OCD). Continuity is everything.


So the action plan from now is:

  1. Iron the panels, ensure the edges are straight and true. Finish any extra detailing required (small stencils for the side panels, or any other detailing effects).


  2. The panels will be made to stretch the distance between eyelets of the top and bottom curtain rings They are slighty shorter than the true measured distance so that they wont sag when installed into the frame. Ensure panels are fitted with the black plastic curtain clips at 6 evenly spaced intervals top and bottom to hook into the rings.


  3. Measure again the width of each panel now installed in the frame, look at how they hang, and decide how big the gap on each side should be. Tack the panel sides in by the desired amount.


  4. Finally assemble all the pieces and then install the room divider into the space.


So here we go, the final showdown between us and the laundry. I thought I was the only one that really hated it, but it turns out hubby has been suffering in secret all this time, when I started this mini project he said ‘well it’s about bloody time’ followed by ‘can’t wait to NOT see it anymore’ ……gosh…… 


 Action stations, on your marks…. GO!!

 

  • Ironing – COMPLETED

I hate ironing, but I did it.

  • Detailing – COMPLETED

For the detailing I really wanted to add a little more sophistication to the dirty potato sack look of the screen. On my searches for inspiration I came across these beautiful and quite possible candidates:

click on any of the below images to be redirected to their host sites.
Puffy paint pillow

Pic 1/ Faux french knot pillow

  

 The above picture is fake embroidery on a pillow (GENIUS) done with puffy paint dots to look like embroidered French knots.

 

embroidery

Pic 2/ Embroidery and negative space

  

 The above image is embroidery around a negative space using different stitches.

 

5abec2d6ef1b44c8b0a598873014d098

Blackwork stich drawing

  

 The last image above is of beautiful blackwork embroidery on fabric by Leila Montero, featured on eileencarpio.wordpress.com

 

I really liked the idea of the faux French knots using fabric paint in a contrasting colour as my first choice, because I don’t want to see actual stitching on the back of the panels, just like I don’t want to see white clips. But I am now experiencing conflict because I also absolutely LOVE the haphazard blackwork stitching by Leila Montero.

 

 

 

Not nearly as pretty, but I’ve tried a mix of the two on some scrap fabric (as above) – blackwork stitches and French knots using only fabric paint, a very small brush and an iron and that helped me make a final decision.

To not go with extra embellishment, is the final answer.

We decided we like the centre panel as it is, without the extra embellishment. I will tuck these techniques in my back pocket for another project, on another day.

Fit the panels with the black clips – COMPLETED

Warning: This is where the project lost some steam and started to backslide.

I thought about this step for the longest time. Should I make ribbon loops for the clips to thread through? Should I sew the clips directly onto the fabric? Should I use grotty curtain strapping? Should I make button holes in the panels and have buttons with loops to feed through the eyelets and back on themselves instead of curtain hooks?….  and that’s when I said to myself:

UGH. STOP – stop thinking about it and just pick something already. GET ON WITH IT YOU DOZY COW.

So, I chose to stitch the clips to the fabric directly. I also baby brained the number of clips I needed,  and in the end didn’t have enough black ones so I had to temporarily add in a few white ones to make up the numbers.

 

Tack the panel sides to desired width – COMPLETED

Again, same slow, deliberate and frustrating process, the decision process is too horrific for me to go into any further detail – Just know I made a decision YAY.

I swear my brain in misfiring these days. My attitude is still decisive and action orientated in my projects, but my brain is indecisive, procrastinating, snail paced and easily distracted by inconsequential/or shiny things. I blame pregnancy. 

 To achieve this step I used a piece of left over card and made a template to the width I needed and then ironed the edges in around the template to ensure the measurements stayed accurate as I ironed the length of the panel.

 

  

  

Assemble and install – PHEW, RELIEF – COMPLETED

Thank goodness that is over with, that was a true test of my patience and attention (especially towards the end). Honestly, between the distractions and the wandering hazy baby brain, it’s a wonder I survive day to day at all, hubby is always concerned when I am ‘crafting’. His most used phrase during this project was ‘DON’T YOU TURTLE’ (TURTLE – meaning in our house – is when I am stuck usually on my back on the floor and can’t get up – I flail around like an upturned turtle). Not much longer to go, although the ‘breeders’ I know say it can be a permanent brain haze situation for some. I would be terrified, if I wasn’t using all my brain strength just trying to concentrate on employing basic motor functions.

Ugh, I found today that I managed to baby brain a load of washing in the washing machine at some point this week? last week? whenever I last did washing??? Ugh it smells like something crawled in there and died a thousand deaths, so SO gross. Maybe, hiding the laundry was not the best idea…..

TOO LATE!

YUUuuuSS, how much better does that look?

and we are done!!!! I’m exhausted, that was more of an endurance event that I expected it to be, I need some chocolate, and a lie down.

 

FROM THIS

 

TO THIS…

 

3 thoughts on “The great laundry cover-up; PART 3 of a 3 part DIY Story – The final act

  1. Pingback: Vintage Style Clown Mobile – restoration project. | Pepperbox Couture

  2. Well done, you! And especially for sticking with it during pregnancy brain episodes. You’ve inspired me on the stenciling bit, too – I was waffling on the “pounce brush” method or just spray painting …… spray it is! Nice way of hiding the laundry!

    Like

Comments are closed.