The Versatile Blogger Award

Versatile Blogger Award image constructed by peppermia

Earlier this month, I was very humbled to be nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award by Megan over at  Dorothy Deerest. Megan runs the cutest little pink deer blog on the ultimate DIY ‘Life style’ topics. My most recent fav – is her post on the dreaded ‘closet edit’ – This may be because I am a sucker for clothes, and need constant reining in.  Stop by and check out Dorothy Deerest sometime – she’s a DIY’er star!!

scissors

So, I am honoured to nominate these fellow bloggers:

Thank you to all of  those wonderful versatile blogs out there keeping inspiration and creativity alive. There are so many to choose from and these are only a very small selection that I have named here today. YOU SHOULD CHECK THEM OUT AS THEY ARE FABULOUS!!

  1. ECLECTIC LIVING HOME – A true source of inspiration and information. I love your finds and posts!
  2. She walks softly – you crack me up with your whimsical humour-full posts I love your work!
  3. The sewing sessions – a good versatile all-rounder blog, her food looks delish!
  4. The ginger penny pincher – Fantastic blog with style and panache. Love your ideas!
  5. Fashion, beauty & thrifting with a little DIY on the side – it’s all in the title and sings my tune!
  6. handmademess – a spirited adventure exploring sewing with different materials, refashioning, recycling and looking great!
  7. The creative enterprise – Truly beautiful pics and ideas for interior design, mmmm food, DIY, Art and photography….. and I suspect a fellow kiwi??
  8. rock, paper scissors, shoot – adventures in climbing, crafts and modelling – fascinating and fun!!
  9. illustrations and oddities – Love, love, LOVE this young ladies art work! I am sneaking her into my list even though it’s slightly against the rules since she only posts about one topic- BUT SHE IS AMAZING and her title refers to two subjects – that passes in my book for variety.
  10. handmade tales of DIY derring do – This lass reminds me of me, and speaks my language through her eclectic posts
  11. The Fabulous Scavenger – Yes, yes you are! The fabulous scavenger has an amazing eye for beauty and style. Freecycle, Upcycle and Recycle all right here.
  12. {Almost 30} – My real life bestie who cooks like a goddess and I don’t get to see often enough.
  13. Steeshes – a photo collection of mustaches – providing giggles everyday with a different perspective on life and living – it always involves a steesh
  14. Raxa collective – for literally saving the world a little each day
  15. Paisley Fox – Beautiful vintage inspired objects are made by and exhibited on the paisley fox blog – super, super stylish and inspirational to anyone who DIY’s. Love it!

 

vintage-weight-gain-ad5

And finally; Seven Interesting Things About Me:

  1. I am a recovering clothing/fashion addict, this blog helps keep me in check, or and my hubby’s frowny face.
  2. I aim to create more and consume less by the three R’s – reduce, reuse, recycle – where ever possible. I REALLY want to get back into my sewing soon. I have so many creations to make and so little time and the freecycle, thrifty found fabrics are piling up.
  3. I have a small library of art books (approx 700) and it’s tough every time we move, but I would be grief-stricken if I were ever parted from them. They are my creative crutch and good for the soul.
  4. My hubby and I are working hard to buy our first house this year……. somewhere for hot rods, bikes, artistic goodies,  chickens, veges, fruit & nut trees and plenty of room for creating and displaying, semi rural – bush setting dream…….even though ‘Home affordability in New Zealand’s cities deteriorated last year with the average metropolitan house costing 5.3 times the average income, up from 5.2 last year, sending them further up the “severely unaffordable” index.’ – We are still working on it.
  5. I am an unashamed thrift-shop-a-holic. I love the thrill of the hunt, the little unexpected gems along the way, and the quality designer clothing finds for next to no coin (whoops, that’s my clothing addiction talking).
  6. I am so disappointed that I haven’t been able to launch a shop in the past year. I haven’t had enough time or patience to spread around to my various commitments and retain a quality service level at my day job – the day job that pays me $$’s so I can do the things I want to do….. Sometimes I feel I am living out the idiomatic expression about the chicken and the egg….

So, super-duper thanks again to Megan from Dorothy Deerest for the nomination 

images

The rules for the Versatile Blogger Award are as follows:

Display the Award Certificate on your websitedone, I even refurbished the logo *TICK*.   Announce your win with a post and link to whoever presented your award – YEP, can check this one off too

Present 15 awards to deserving bloggers – I tried to pick blogs I’ve never mentioned before to spice it up and share the glory. Drop them a comment to tip them off after you’ve linked them in the post – will do (behind the scenes). Post 7 interesting things about yourself – completed *ThumbsUp*, not sure if they are that interesting though……… *shrug*.

16 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: the versatile blogger award « Handmade tales of DIY derring do

  2. Wow! That’s awesome! I’m new to wordpress and just started my own blog this week so I’m THRILLED that you posted 15 blogs that you liked and what you liked about the! It helps me find other cool blogs and I started following some of them already, thanks to you! lol Anyway, just wanted to say that I’ve enjoyed a few of your posts and love that you love thrift shopping and DIY project. Can’t wait to see other cool ideas from you! Thanks for sharing:-)

    Like

    • Awesome, I am glad I could share and inspire – that’s what the purpose of a blog is right? I must be doing something right – thanks for the comment and coming along with me on the journey!

      Like

Comments are closed.