Upcycled Kimono Hippy top

P1010719

This top started life as a large scarf and a denim skirt. The buttons are a also upcycled and are a mixture of steel and plastic self cover buttons of various sizes.

I had a vintage out of print simplicity (circa 1960’s) pattern…… which I modified [View 2]into a wrap style Kimono top.

(Click on the pattern image to be redirected to Vintage patterns on Wiki. )

image

I was surprised how easy  and quick it was to sew using this pattern. It is an excellent pattern for those who want something a little different and have a few hours to spare.

As I mentioned before regarding the materials…… I used the denim skirt in the shoulder yoke, collar and the facings. Purely because I ran out of scarf (I had very very little left overs and had to place my patterns pieces wisely), and I wanted to break up the pattern a little bit rather than be swimming in a sea of turquoise. The Denim is a mix of colours (mainly blue and brown) that compliment the turquoise and rum brown design.

P1010720

I chose to make this top not because i loved the pattern or the material…….. I loved the belt and it’s ridiculous length and I wanted an excuse to wear it more. Now I don’t know if this is the solution but it will work for now.

P1010721

If I was to pass on any tips with this project it would have to be. Take a chance with using different textiles – I thought I was in for some trouble in feeding this sheer fabric through the machine but it sewed like a dream with no hiccups or snags and I will now be on the look out for more scarves like it. I have already picked up a few so watch this space!

Next time I use this pattern I will definitely look into lengthening the bodice into a tunic length maybe even with a men’s shirt style hemline – this top sits on the waistline and with the cross over it tends to ride up a little.

Not much else to say on this one other than I now need a skirt to go with it…….. bummer that the skirt I used in the yoke/collar/facings would have been ideal right colour, right look. Oh well back to the drafting board, I will come up with something better..

P1010717

9 thoughts on “Upcycled Kimono Hippy top

  1. Pingback: 28: A Quilt, a Mask, a Candle and More. | Almofate's Likes

    • Really? thanks that’s great to know. I just follow my own path I have no real idea what is hot right now I just make what I like. So it’s good to know that other people are into the same things at the same time I am. 🙂

      Like

  2. Very cool, how long did it take you to get good at sewing clothes? I’m only just getting started with sewing but definitely want to make my own clothes at some point.

    Like

    • Well, I still wouldn’t think I am ready to open a clothing line or anything – That’s how ‘good’ I want to be eventually. It didn’t take me long to get where I am though, I started early last year not knowing how to thread a machine or even a bobbin to understanding a pattern and I am now comfortable with everything except zips. I am still a little afraid of the zip.

      Best thing I can tell you is give it a go, and don’t be scared to take on the more complicated things – practice makes perfect!!

      Good luck.

      Like

    • Thanks for the feedback and I will look into alternative display photos (I have been thinking the same thing about the dummy), I have a tripod that I need to work out how it fits together etc watch this space. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.