Upcycled Shirt Skirt

I saw a cute little article through Pinterest regarding the shirt skirt. I had to attempt a version of this project myself. The original article basically details how to make a gathered elasticated A-Line skirt by cutting off the sleeves and top, stitching up the sides. Should take you 10 minutes from start to finish.

To find the original posting click here: shirt skirt

image this is the image from the original article on FashionIndie.

I had a go at the A-Line version above with a dark blue light wool XL men’s shirt. It looked ok, not as cute as the one in the picture, a little plain really so I started tinkering……

I put shaping darts in the back and changed the front button up panel (I realised could be embarrassing if a button pops open or when you sit down the gaps between the buttons open up and that’s not really what I’m going for). Changed all of the buttons and added facing inside the waist band.

I came up with this as my version. Now it’s a little bit pin-up, a little bit steam punk – just how I like it. I thought of vintage field medic pencil skirts when I finished it. (I have never seen vintage field medic uniforms, this is how I imagine them to look)

It’s not as see-through as it appears in the photographs….. at least I hope not!P1010435P1010436

Hope everyone is had a wonderful year so far and that you all have something fun planned for the New Years celebrations. Stay safe and best wishes for the New Year ahead!

This is my last post for the year of 2011 as tomorrow brings 2012 (In New Zealand), New Year, New opportunities – yay!!

Bunny

P

10 thoughts on “Upcycled Shirt Skirt

  1. I’ve seen the men’s shirt into women’s skirt idea a lot on the web and it always looks about the same. Not your’s though, it looks very unique and fun!

    Jordan
    zoundsdesign.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. This is great! Keep up the good work. Do you have an etsy account? Interested in showcasing some of your work in a creative magazine? Your projects would be perfect for Pregnant Minds.

    Happy New Year from the Northern Hemisphere!

    Like

Comments are closed.