Sleeveless Empire Line, Bias Cut Dress

image

I finished this dress today – I followed the Simplicity pattern 5968 (as seen above) for the basic lines of the garment. Hard to see from the image but the waist line is low and scoops around the back then rises under the bust.

I liberated the fabric from my mums linen cupboard some years back – saving it from the moths that surely would have eaten it had they realised it had been there for so long.

P1010342

I decided to leave the dress sleeveless and collarless. As I feel the style is quite dated with the fluted sleeves and large lapels, and I wanted a more simple classic clean look. I also left the buttons off in an aim to de-clutter the look.

Not entirely sure what the fabric consists of but it is definitely of synthetic origins. Falls nicely around the body, but was a real pain to sew as it preferred to stick to the machine rather than move through it……. But, I got there in the end.

My dress form is set to a curvy size 12 to a 14 through the hips – classic pear shape. The style hugs the smallest part of the body under the bust and lightly skims over the tummy and hips into a flared A-Line cut.

P1010339P1010340P1010341

Things I would do differently next time:

  1. try different fabric
  2. research & learn some zipper tricks – how to insert a zipper without to much fuss…….
  3. try capped sleeves with box pleating and different neck line
  4. experiment with the uniform shape of the hemline.
  5. Try a pencil skirt rather than a flared a-line.
Please leave a Reply. I'm also happy to answer any questions you may have.

