little red riding hood style wool (blanket) coat

I thought, since I have made a few of these coats I should be brave and go with my creative instincts and change EVERYTHING.

First thing I did were sketches, I used my knowledge of the original coat pattern and construction to alter parts of the original coat pattern to create a garment more like my sketches. The major elements I wanted was an enormous hood and a gathered skirt. The rest of the coat is fairly similar to the original pattern.

The materials used. I used two different contrast grey wool blankets and leftover red wool blanket from my military coat. I also lined this coat with a red cotton bed-sheet. Oh, and I up-cycled an old heart-shaped double ended belt buckle.

This is my favorite coat so far… It is a little heavy but so so soooo warm for those winter evening outings.

♥ Click on images below to enlarge

7 thoughts on “little red riding hood style wool (blanket) coat

Please leave a Reply. I'm also happy to answer any questions you may have.

