Inspired coats made from wool blankets

   ♠   ♣   Up-cycling, re-cycling, re-fashioning, not quite sure what it’s called but I aspire to do it.! ♥   ♦

I started my sewing adventure learning to sew coats in April/May 2011

I was inspired by Paula Coulthard a NZ fashion designer & textile artist who makes the most beautiful woolen blanket coats complete with carefully embroidered patches. Her stuff can be seen at http://www.paulacoulthard.co.nz/.

This was my first sewing project. My mum helped me with the outer shell (that was my first and only lesson in sewing). I constructed the inner lining out of a satin duvet cover.

The outer was made from a thick wool blanket that had horizontal stripes. The thickness of the wool blanket helped with the structural integrity of the coat.

The pattern is a 1960’s simplicity coat pattern.

 ♦My first coat!!!♦

Be sure to check out my other wool blanket coats articles or click on the images below to be taken to the articles:

3 thoughts on “Inspired coats made from wool blankets

Please leave a Reply. I'm also happy to answer any questions you may have.

